Nuisance Phone Calls Aren’t Just a Nuisance

So one of those PPI phone call bastards threatened my mum with the police today. No joke.

Basically she answered the phone to have someone ask for my dad. She said he wasn’t there and could she take a message. She’s nice and polite like that. The man said no. It was for my dad alone. She then asked what it was about. He told her she wasn’t allowed to know. Mum pointed out that the man the caller wanted was her husband. “So?” came the reply.

My mum’s very nice but she gets tetchy and once there, she gets into super tetchy very quickly. I get that from her. So this man’s abrupt tone annoyed her so she demanded to know what company this caller represented.

“Don’t you understand?” he snapped.
“No, I don’t,” Mum replied.
“Well you will when the cops come round in 24 hours.”
“What?!”
He repeated the line, then hung up.

Mum admitted she was close to tears by then. She wrote down the conversation instantly and the number. That’s how we know it is PPI. They’ve called a few times and each time been told not to call back.

When she told me all this, I laughed at how outrageous the cops threat was, because it was an absurd thing to say. Mum said she knew it, yet she still felt agitated. But I’m fuming about the whole thing. I’ve been urging her to post it on her own FB and let people share it around. She doesn’t want that but is going to complain to OFCOM tomorrow (of what use that will be, I’m unsure). So I’m bitching for her.

What really makes me mad is that I’m looking up things to do about this, and most of the info is pretty pathetic. You can complain to regulators, or the company itself, but not much seems to get done. There’s little normal people can really do to get these shitty phone calls stopped, let alone punish the companies.

We had another phone call later. It was another unwanted call. I answered, told the caller to fuck off, hung up. That’s what I’m doing from now on. No more tolerance. No more trying to explain things to these pricks. They can all shit off. Don’t care what it is. Maybe they’ll get the hint. If not, I just hope no one around here puts a swear jar up.

Leave a Reply

