What A Summer

So the last couple of months have felt like almost a year. I mean that in a good way, though. In a great way, really.

 

My fiancée came over and we did a lot of walking and visiting and enjoying ourselves. In doing so, I found out just how fulsome my small home town is, full of little places to have a quiet meal in. I also discovered that the nearby cinema is an excellent place to go watch a movie. We saw Dawn of the Planet of the Apes and Guardians of the Galaxy. The first I found to be a really engaging movie which had a very contrived plot. I didn’t mind it. Like I said to the missus, if I care about whether an orangutan called Maurice is alive or dead, you know the film has done something right. Still, there were parts where my brain was having a good grumble. Also, I would love to watch a movie just about the apes. Humans tend to pale in comparison in these films. Guardians was fun, but flawed. It took me a while to get into it. I think the moment where we have the gang altogether, breaking out of the jail, is when things really kicked off. The character interactions were the best part of it for me. This was also the first time I saw a movie in 3D. I do not approve. Hated wearing the glasses, really put me off, and I gained no benefit I could tell.

 

Anyway, my fiancée and I got married at Avebury in a quick and sneaky ceremony she designed. Just a few family members bore witness. We think some walkers saw us and went another way to give us some peace, which was very considerate of them. The legal side of things has yet to be sorted, but has very little importance to us. The commitment made by each other to each other is what counts.

 

I also had one of my best friends visit briefly. That was a surreal experience. I’ve been a loner and shy bloke all my life, and then one day I have two hot women in my bedroom. Just watching movies, mind you.

 

Add to this my mother retiring, her birthday, my wife’s birthday, my own birthday, along with numerous other little moments, and the summer of 2014 has been a hectic and intense but wonderful time. Now I’m back to the usual slower pace, but this taste has left me knowing that I am ready, and willing, to change my life. I’ve found someone I can comfortably share my life with and have been able to look after people I’m deemed responsible for. The trip to the hospital was a big revelation moment in that regard.

 

So, back to the grindstone but with more purpose. A friend is beginning to build something and wants my help. Plans are afoot. The future beckons.

Leave a Reply

